Volver

Hello cyberworld! Sorry for the absence… a lot has been happening over here which makes finding time to sit down and process life difficult. Excuses schmexcuses, I know.

The weather has taken a long time to cool off here in Phoenix, sadly, but we seem to be faring moderately well. Most days still get up to the 80s (boo!), but I suppose I can’t complain because many of you are hunkered down inside while your front yards look like what I imagine the Canadian tundra to be like. Well, perhaps that’s a bit of an exaggeration… but snow really freaks me out, guys. Last year at this time I was still living in Denver, CO, and I did not handle the snow too well. Correction: My 2010 Corolla did not handle the snow too well with me at the helm. Thank goodness I had an AZ license plate to half-justify my constant skidding and fish-tailing. I’m glad to be home this year, that’s for sure.

I’ve been taking a lot of time to reflect on 2012 lately and have started feeling very grateful for all the wonderful things that have come out of it. I still feel a lot like an aimless college grad, but the feeling of purposelessness and meaninglessness is slowly abating. I’d still like to go back to school – although I have no idea for what – and I’m trying to figure out what kind of person I’d like to be in the long run. But being home near my family, being with Blaise… these things are driving me steadily onward.

Blaise and I have begun the slow process of decorating our little place for the holidays. It’s nice how much a few bows and lights can really add to the atmosphere!

DecorA bit of garland around the mirror and some bows on the Rossin Ghibli bicycle -

Tree!Our little tree! I’m still waiting to bring over my ornaments from my parents’ house, so she’s not finished yet, but this is certainly a grand start!

The arrival of the holiday season also means one more thing to me — Birthday Time!! This year is a particularly special birthday for me, as I will turn the big 2-4 on 12/12/12. (Get it? 24 on 12/12/12??!) My dear Blaise decided to do something special a little early for me this year, and I am feeling like one lucky lady. Those of you who know me know that in 2011 I undertook an Independent Project at UPS in order to analyze and study Sufjan Stevens‘ 2004 album, Seven Swans. It took me about 4 months to do the project, and 50 pages later, I had a pretty neat study put together. Unfortunately, despite my mega-fan-girl status, I had never seen him live. Until…

Suf TixBlaise surprised me with tickets to see their show down in Tucson! OH BOY!

We spent a day hauling around town, sampling some lovely cocktails at The Hub, Scott & Co, and Maynard’s Kitchen. We stayed at the Hotel Congress (which is simply amazing!), and sampled Blue Bottle coffee from Sparkroot.

Rex

Angel

and of course…

SufjanThe man of the hour was full of Christmas spirit and oh so much fun!

It’s strange to be home for Christmas for once, and not planning a full on pilgrimage back to my parents for the holidays. In a sense, I miss the excitement that comes with packing a suitcase and heading for warmer climes, but I’m truly enjoying being near family, setting up my own tree, and sampling plenty of Blaise’s eggnog by the fire. More Christmas updates to come, and of course, news about the upcoming birthday festivities!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Volver

  1. Wow! This looks like it would be SUCH a great show. And from the look of your pictures…you had some awesome seats!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

