Back Again

It was so good to be away for a time. San Francisco was lovely – more lovely than I could have asked for. The people were delightful, the food and drinks were delicious. It was hard to come back in many ways, and a large part of me wishes we could have stayed. However, I realize now more than even how important it is to belong to where you are from, to appreciate and love it, to engage with it on a profound level.

I am a Phoenician and always have been. No matter what sorts of efforts I have made to get away from this place, it always draws me back. Whether it is the beautiful winters, the beautiful people, or the sheer feeling of being “home,” this is a place I will never escape. And at this point, I may be okay with that.

Here’s a few photos from our little vacation.


On the beach in Santa Barbara, on the way up to San Francisco. We had to stop to fix Blaise’s iPhone, so we made a little detour. Mai Tai’s looking over the harbor were never so good!


On our first morning in San Francisco, we wandered off to one of Blaise’s most recommended bakeries – Tartine. We waited in line for at least 20 minutes before hauling off our goods to Dolores Park. We had (arguably) the best fruit tart in the world – white raspberries, blackberries, sweet cream, tucked in a delicious flaky crust. We also grabbed a roll stuffed with gruyere cheese and chives. Mm-mmm!

How dapper. We spent far too much money hamming it up on Bar Agricole. Delicious drinks, however.


The Fidel and Che was a delicious little cocktail I snagged from a swanky little place near the MOMA downtown called Local Edition.


And just as soon as our cocktails were finished, we hopped on the cable car line and zipped up to North Beach!


A few days later, we returned to North Beach and I went to the coolest little record store – 101 Music. I almost bought a nice little record layer, but thought the better of it and ended up leaving it there. Sigh!


A little detour through the beach next to Golden Gate Park. This boy is the best!


North Beach.


We stayed in LA on our last night before we returned to Phoenix. We enjoyed prowling about like rock stars in the Redbury Hotel in West Hollywood.


The view from the balcony of our Redbury Suite on the last morning before we returned. It’s hard to think that this was really only a week ago!

I think a lot of the difficulty being back has to do with the fact that I’m rather fallow at the moment. No work, no big projects. But I suppose I can’t complain too much… I have been doing a lot of things around the house. New furniture, cleaning, re-arranging, organizing… it all must be done!

All I know is that I’m a lucky girl, to be honest. I have a great life here. A great family, a great boyfriend, a great… existence. I have so much to be thankful for, and as far as I can tell, things will only be getting better from here on out!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

