Nesting

Now that I’ve moved in with Blaise, we’ve taken on the task of rearranging, redecorating, refurnishing the place and making it new. We’ve spent a lot of time hunting on craigslist, local vintage and antique shops, ebay, etc., searching for the perfect mid-century modern furniture (think Eames / Herman Miller / Mad Men even though we [gasp!] don’t watch it). Just the other day, we found the most darling credenza that we snatched up for a really great price, and yesterday we drove up to Sun City West to grab a terrific, tall chrome-edged bar table and three tall chairs to go with it. It looks so fantastic!

We’re still on the lookout for hutches, bookshelves, more (at least one?) credenzas, and most specifically, a couch. I suppose my dream couch would be from Thrive, but that’s a little out of our price range these days. Sigh! There are also a few nice things from Ikea, but they are in the upper-mid range of our price bracket, and I figure that if we’re going to spend that much money, we should really hold out for something antique that we can get for a steal of a price. I’m not the biggest fan of Ikea — it’s got some great stuff, I’ll admit, but it doesn’t have that durability factor that I really crave.

A few wants:

ImageWhat a gorgeous credenza…. I could own a warehouse of these guys and never have enough!

Image

Exactly what we got for the kitchen!

Image

ImageI so want something like this to keep all our dishes in!

It’s going to take a while to get everything the way we want it to be. Gutting, cleaning, painting, wallpapering (I would love to cover a wall in this or this!) , hanging new lights, organizing, installing this that and the other thing… it’ll be a huge task! And I haven’t yet started to talk about the garden!

And as quickly as I check the clock to see what time it is today, I realize that my summer vacation is quickly slipping away. Sigh! Classes will start again so very, very soon and I’ll have to return to adult-world. I’m learning a lot about time management these days, but it’s still so very hard to get everything done in just one day!

All in due time, I suppose. Including all these home improvements!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

