Weekend Photo Recap

It was a pretty excellent weekend. I’m now camped out in the bedroom, stuffed with good food, sun baked, and absolutely exhausted. Here is what we did.

Sunday morning, I made French Toast with the remainder of our bread and the last of our eggs. The secret to excellent French Toast batter, of course, is vanilla. Luckily, we had some homemade Scottish vanilla extract that fit just the bill.

We headed out to Home Depot for some more succulents and came out with these little guys and some stuffs to repair the credenza display we got the other day. I’m so excited to fill this place at every level with little terrariums! They are so nice looking and oh-so easy to maintain. We then went back to QCumberz for the second time in one week to look for a few table legs we’d seen sitting in the back. The tough thing about places like QCumberz and Charlie’s Corner is that they are filled top to bottom with neat little things I’d love to have.

The dishes with the blue flower pattern on them are the same as my mom’s casserole dishes. I keep seeing them in antique shops, which she says makes her feel old. Don’t worry, Mom! You’re not old! You just have cool dishes!

Corelle Corner! I want everything in vintage Corelle…

Curiosities everywhere. This picture makes me think of Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury. I can’t believe he died this year…

When we got home, Blaise got to work re-staining the little display case he picked up the other day. After spending several hours on Saturday sanding it down and trying to mitigate weather damage, it was starting to look nice. He attached our newly purchased peg legs onto it later that night and voila! We had our very own mid-century modern credenza.

Monday was just as nice as Sunday, if that was possible. After a late breakfast, we headed off to lunch with Blaise’s grandmother and cousin, Elizabeth, who is in town from South Dakota. We ate at Gallo Blanco, one of our favorite haunts. I suppose I was a little selfish in my request to go to Gallo, because really, I just wanted to go swimming in the pool at The Clarendon after lunch…

Blaise and Elizabeth split some tacos. The above pictured was, I believe, octopus.

I stuck with a little lighter granola, yogurt, and fruit dish. I love that bowl so very much, too.  Here are some similarly-styled ones from Anthropologie…

And then there was much swimming! I love that little Phoenix bench over on the far side of the pool… what a neat logo my little city has.

It was largely a day of food, food, food, because as soon as lunch was done, we headed over to my parents’ place to start cooking dinner for them. They had just arrived back in town after a quick trip to Colorado, and I offered to make dinner for them so they didn’t have to worry about it on their first day back.

We decided we had all the makings for tacos, so we set to work mixing up some peppers, onions, ground beef, spices (i.e. cumin, cumin, cumin!), tomatoes, chilies, and a few scrambled eggs. I think they liked it.

After dinner, my mom took the both of us down to Zoyo for a bit of dessert. Always down for a bit of frozen yogurt.

Today was my last full day of summer. Tomorrow I will head back to school for the faculty potluck, and on Wednesday I will start “New Faculty Orientation” — even though I have already taught for a full semester. Next week will begin my school’s orientation and training, and before I know it, I will have a classroom full of living, breathing, students in front of me. Time flies by more quickly these days than it ever has before.

I am struck by how wonderful this summer has been. I have so many incredible people in my life, and I have been given such good opportunities over the past few months. I can’t be anything but grateful, to be honest. But for now, with the aforementioned full belly, I must turn off the computer and fall asleep. So many ladybugs to make tomorrow!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

