An Ongoing Quest and A New Beginning

Hey, everyone? Really quick I want to toss out a big fat T-H-A-N-K Y-O-U to everyone who read and commented on my previous post “Egghead.” WordPress featured the post on their “Freshly Pressed” page yesterday and the response was really overwhelming. People had such sweet things to say about the birdies and my writing, and for a brand spanking new blogger like myself, it was a super rewarding experience.

My apologies if you stopped by my “About” page to check out what this blog is all about… I haven’t gotten around to putting a thoughtful one up yet! Here’s “The Good Life” in a quick word:

My desire to start blogging was a two-fold one. I really like writing and I was starting to get out of practice, so I thought that having a forum to hammer out a few lame noun-verb sentences every day or so would be a good thing. Maybe, hopefully, surely they will be less lame someday! Secondly, I have come to the conclusion that I am truly and deeply happy at this point in my life. There are so many wonderful things going on right now, and every day that I don’t write them down or snap a few photos, I start forgetting them piece my piece. So here is my organic, shifting, changing, ever-breathing scrapbook. I don’t want to forget a single blessed detail.

So here are some updates.

Now that we have our couch frame, we are starting the process of shopping for fabric and foam in order to start making the cushions. My neighbor recommended that we check out Fabric Depot. Although it was a bit out of the way for us, we made a morning of it and drove up to check out the warehouse full of designer fabrics.

We were excited to be greeted by bins and bins full of leather scraps! I believe it was $3.99 per pound, and some of the scraps were awfully large. Perfect for a good wallet — lucky Blaise who happens to be an excellent leatherworker!

There was SO MUCH FABRIC. It was ridiculous. I can’t believe how many different patterns, textures, and colors there were. We had a lot of fun looking at the weird ones…

This bird looks moderately frightening. I do not want it on my couch, thank you very much.

Some of the fabric was very reasonably priced, but apparently it takes about 17 yards to make a full sized couch. Now, we haven’t exactly measured out our couch yet so we’re not quite sure exactly how much fabric we will need, but 17 yards sounds fairly right. However, that is a darn lot of fabric!

I like this one a lot. A lot.

We came away with these four swatches. (What did I say? Did I not say I was thinking neutrals and Blaise was thinking blue? Well guess who picked out which swatches….)

If you feel so compelled, leave me a comment with your vote! I know the picture isn’t of an awesome resolution… but you can get a decent idea. Let’s give them names… from left to right : chocolate, cerulean, straw (which we have sort of ruled out, so I hope you weren’t planning on voting for it), and smoke. Have at it!

IN OTHER NEWS:

Classes start in one. week. from. today. WHEW.

I got into my classroom for the first time today and boy oh boy do I have my work cut out for me! Here is the current state of my room:

I have to-do lists like you wouldn’t believe. Even my to-do lists have to-do lists!

Stay posted… there will be beautiful, bright, shiny pictures of all the fancy-schmany posters I am currently in the process of making.

(here’s an itty-bitty baby sneak peak of some of the room decor.
Classroom Theme: WILD ABOUT ART!)

xoxo –
Cal

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

