Peeling

After only two weeks of school, my room has begun to unravel in tiny ways.

The first graders at the yellow table love pulling up tape…. I smell a lunch detention coming up!

Things are going well… mostly. I have a few unruly classes that I am attempting to motivate, but goodness knows I still love them dearly and look forward to seeing them each day. There are lots of little projects we are working on and I am getting more and more excited about my curriculum as time goes on. I’ll try to explain more about what I do in depth at a later date, but for now, this is what next week looks like:

KindergartenIntroduction to Warm Colors
First Grade: Art of Ancient Egypt
Second Grade: Different types of Line
Third Grade: Introduction to 3D shapes
Fourth Grade: Introduction to Gothic Architecture
Fifth Grade: Crash course in Greek, Roman, and Medieval Art (insofar as it informs the European Renaissance…. which we shall begin to study the next week)

A few great things about this week:

My class points system seems to be working! This is a little complicated, andI will explain the whole thing later. The class with the most points at the end of the quarter will earn a fun, fun pizza party from yours truly! (I get a lot of concerned questions about which KIND of pizza there will be and similarly, a lot of lamenting that the end of the quarter isn’t until October. Oh the agonies of being a kid!)

My first group of Monday Masterpiece classes went great! Second grade studied “Red, Yellow, Blue” by Kandinsky in an attempt to refresh our memory on primary colors. We are also about to start a unit on different types of Line, so I thought Kandinsky would be good for that, too.

To kick off our unit on COLOR, Kindergarten studied Monet. They had a lot of fun coloring their lily pads.


Kindergarten also talked about the way different colors made us feel. Most of them concluded that red = angry, yellow = happy, and blue = sad. Some were a little confused by the whole concept so we’re going to have to take a few steps back and talk about it again. I also threw in “what color is surprised? SURPRISE ME!” sheet and boy-oh-boy did they surprise me…

Third grade is talking about value shading and shadows. As I mentioned above, next week we’ll get into 2D to 3D objects and I thought starting with shadows would be a good place to begin. They’ve been a super fun class and we had some good times with flashlights this last week!

First grade has studied Cave Paintings this week (their Monday Masterpiece was an image from the Cave of Lascaux), but we haven’t gotten to do a ton of fun stuff yet. I did teach them, however, how to trace their hands. Unfortunately, we’ve had to spend most of our time practicing procedures and learning how to stay quiet in the hall and during class. Yesterday I marched them up and down the stairs for about twenty minutes. I felt like a drill sergeant.

Fourth and Fifth grade are purely art history courses this year. Fourth was introduced to the Middle Ages this week and we had some time to do a bit of creative writing on Thursday. They are a very, very large class, however, and my room is rather tiny, so I’m having trouble keeping them completely quiet and on task.

Fifth grade worked on research skills this week (I think I posted a picture of a reference book scavenger hunt I had them do earlier this week), and we’ve also talked about plagiarism and bibliographies. I haven’t gotten through as much of this as I wanted, but I suppose I’ll sprinkle it throughout the quarter. They will be working through the European Renaissance the entire time.

 But for now, it’s almost the weekend. And pssst! Guess what?!

It’s like…. cold outside!
Thanks for the break from blistering heat, Phoenix!

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

